Zach Fortman

Clinton (5-1) is ranked 1st in Class 3A by the S.C. Baseball Coaches Association.

The Red Devils open Region 4 play on Tuesday night at home (6 p.m.) against Union County.


1. Berkeley

2. West Ashley

3. Lexington

4. River Bluff

5. Clover

6. Blythewood

7. Summerville

8. Fort Mill

9. Ashley Ridge

10. Boiling Springs


1. South Florence

2. May River

3. Greenville

4. James Island

5. AC Flora

6. Airport

7. North Myrtle Beach

8. Hartsville

9. Greenwood

10. Lugoff-Elgin


1. Clinton

2. Brookland-Cayce

3. Blue Ridge

4. Hanahan

5. Chapman

6. Seneca

7. Aynor

8. Dreher

9. Crescent

10. Powdersville


1. Oceanside Collegiate

2. Andrew Jackson

3. Gray Collegiate

4. Mid-Carolina

5. Strom Thurmond

6. Woodland

7. Batesburg-Leesville

8. Blacksburg

9. Ninety-Six

10. Bishop England


1. Southside Christian

2. Lake View

3. Christ Church

4. Johnsonville

5. Latta

6. St. Joseph's

7. Lewisville

8. Whitmire

9. Dixie

10. Lamar

Laurens swept a C-team baseball doubleheader with Clinton on Saturday. The Raiders won the former game 7-0 and the latter 3-2.

Noah Hughes stopped the Red Devils on 2 hits in 4 innings. Angel Vargas took the loss for Clinton.

Hughes also went 2-2 at the plate.

The nightcap was closer, though Laurens never trailed after scoring all 3 runs in the top of the 1st inning.

Ke’Allen Blackwell drove in a run with a groundout, and Cody Haymes singled in another. A 3rd run scored that was not driven in.

Graydon Watkins and Zack Lawson, who took the loss on the mound, each collected 2 singles.

Logan Martin led the Raiders with 2 hits. Each team had 6 hits and an error.

The S.C. Basketball Coaches Association will honor its newest hall of famers on March 17. They are Tim Baldwin of Goose Creek, Zam Fredrick of Calhoun County, Frank Moorhead of North Myrtle Beach and Eddie Raines of Winnsboro and Chapin.

Baldwin won four girls state titles.

Fredrick led the nation in scoring while playing basketball at South Carolina and led the Saints to five state championships in a 7-year span and 10 altogether.

Moorhead, who has coached both girls and boys, won a girls title in 1986 and was runnerup three years later. He won 435 games and never had a losing season.

Raines is a Whitmire product who coached at Wagener, Winnsboro and Chapin.

Three of the latest four inductees in the S.C. Athletic Administrators Association hall of fame have Laurens County ties.

Bobby Ivey, of course, coached and administered famously at Laurens District High, and Jimmy Neal, best known for his work in Camden, once coached at LDHS. John Cann, who retired as AD at T.L. Hanna last year, played football at Presbyterian College.

The other inductee is Jerry Linn of Beaufort.