Several familiar Laurens County Speedway competitors competed at Charlotte Motor Speedway’s Dirt Track over the past weekend. The occasion was the 5th Annual Drydene World Short Track Championship, a 3-day event.

Phillip Wilson took second place in the 4-Cylinder race, Rod Tucker was third in 602 Crate and Dale Timms was fourth in the same race. In Front Wheel Drive, Cody Paige finished eighth and Justin Harris 18th.

Other participants from LCS were Dakota Wilson, Michael Simmons, Lee Cooper, Michael Smith, Colt Smith, Colby Cannon, Baron McDowell, Goose Calvert, David Stone and Keaton Smith.

Reviewing the Saturday night races at Laurens County Speedway on Oct. 24 and 17, the country’s 5th-ranked Super Late Model driver, Brandon Overton, made a surprise visit and won the annual Ronnie Brookshire Memorial on the 3/8-mile dirt track.

It was an Ultimate Super Late Model Series race, with Overton claiming the $4,014 (14 was Brookshire’s number) first prize after setting a track record of 13.569 seconds in qualifying. Chris Madden had held the record since 2012.

Zack Mitchell finished second with Cla Knight third.

Deano Long won back-to-back in Limited Late Model. In Monster Mini, Phillip Wilson won for the seventh time a week after Travis Mosley took the checkered flag.

Wayne Taylor won Front Wheel Drive on Oct. 24, a week after Joel Cabe’s victory. Dale Timms was the Oct. 24 winner in 602 Crate, and Rod Tucker won the previous week.

The Thunder Bomber winners were Reid Neaderhiser on Oct. 24 and Dylan Chappell on Oct. 17.

Two more racing programs remain, with a Demolition Derby to be run on Nov. 14.