Only 24 football teams nationally earned the Academic Progress Rate Award from the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association.

Presbyterian College was one of them and led the Big South Conference for the fourth straight year.

The FCS ADA APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 13 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score. In addition, the association also recognizes one institution from each conference that has improved the most from the previous year.

In 2003, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes.

The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the Academic Progress Rate.